Intern Things…

Well hello everyone!

I know I haven’t blogged in what seems like forever, but between moving back to school, starting classes, and getting an internship I’ve been one busy gal. It was looking like I was going to be internshipless and the process was SO frustrating because every listing out there was filled upon me applying. But, one lazy Monday I was looking up internships and found one in the industry I am interested in. I am pleased to announce that I am an Administrative Assistant Intern at a recent startup called Oak & Velvet. Oak & Velvet is an upscale upholstery and custom furniture business here in Connecticut. Basically, I do it all. I have done filing, I’ve done excel sheets, reached out to magazines, the list is endless. But though it’s busy work, its giving me the first hand experience of running a business and getting it off the ground. While I want to get into the Real Estate and Interior Design field, working here has given me the opportunity to see interior design from the other perspective, the furniture world.

Part of my duties include helping to plan a grand opening party they are having in April. The party will showcase their new showroom and factory where their custom pieces are made from start to finish. It’s pretty cool to be part of this whole process, and to give them my input on what pieces to include in their “signature collection”. I feel like I can leave a permanent mark on something, and that to me is pretty cool. This week is my second week on the job, and though it’s draining between the commute and balancing school work, its totally worth it; I can boost my resume, build a reputation, and make connections that can only further my future career.

I saw an angel reader before going back to school, and she said to me that this is gonna be my year. Yes, some of you reading may laugh to yourselves and call me a fool saying I believe this stranger and the things she told me. But I truly believe it. This year has been the year of opportunity and I pray that it doesn’t stop here. (For anyone wondering what an angel reader is, she is a person who is a medium and psychic and can communicate with those who have crossed over. For any skeptics you must see this angel, she was spot on with specific details of my life that I did not bring up. It was amazing!) Anyways, I’ll keep you updated on my internship, and what I’m learning and what I’m up to.

Love Always,

Blog Logo

Leave a comment